What is Your Purpose: Anthony De Giorgio

This year I decided to step outside of my comfort zone with my professional development and networking, I decided to fully embrace my use of Twitter. I have had my twitter account since 2010 but never really used it until I witnessed the potential that it has at the ConnectedPE conference. The way you can network, share ideas and inspire others is truly awesome!
One connection I have made since embracing twitter is Anthony De Giorgio (@adegiorgioPE). Based out the the Bahamas in a MYP IB programmed school, this has not stopped us in having some awesome 140-characters-at-a-time conversations revolving around quality health and physical education, development of physical literacy, learning throughout all domains and also the importance of quality professional development. 

This fellow abroad Canadian has helped provide me with some great insight into the framework of a high quality HPE program, assessment and promoting Physical Literacy. Hopefully we get a chance to catch up at the Branksome Hall MYP sessions taking place at the end of July! But for now, I did manage to track him down to share some of his insights for What is Your Purpose…


What am I passionate about?

My greatest passion is definitely about the holistic power of health. I truly believe that understanding why and how to put your health first allows you to live your life to the fullest potential and get the most out of every day. Most people would think the word ‘health’ refers to fitness or nutrition, but it is so much more than that. It keeps us physically moving & away from the doctor, it provides us with purpose and direction both socially and emotionally and helps us be more productive both in our professional and personal lives. I was lucky enough to have parents who from before my first steps made movement, activity and (by such) health a priority. I hope to instill these same values in my daughter and future children as well as my students so that their relationship with health allows them to lead a fulfilling and enjoyable life. 


Why do I do what I do?

I believe that my job as a teacher and coach serves the purpose of the greater good, which is to shape my students to become quality human beings who see the value in being a caring global citizen. As a HPE teacher, we teach our students the ‘how’ and ‘why’ about health and set them up to be healthy, active adults who lead a positive lifestyle and can ultimately take full control of their lives. Understanding the value and importance in prioritizing one’s personal health is a pre-requisite for anybody before they can help others. Only then can we become facilitators in other’s lives and begin to affect the greater good I previously mentioned. We have such a great chance to positively change the lives of our students and serve not only their individual needs, but also our societal needs. 


If you haven’t done so already, you need to follow Anthony on twitter at @adegiorgioPE. Thanks for taking the time to share with others your passion for quality health and physical education!

Leave a Reply

